Hollis and Helen Baright Public Library

5555 S. 77th St.

Ralston, NE  68127-3645

402-331-7636

402-331-1168 fax

 

  Hours:

 

 

 

Monday - Thursday

Friday - Saturday

Sunday 

 

10:00 am - 9:00 pm

10:00 am - 5:00 pm

1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

 

Home Library Information Our History Catalog Search New Items Databases & Links City of Ralston Contact Us

 

Databases and Other Links

 

Access to the Other Links is available to anyone.  Access to the databases is available to any Baright Public Library card holder.  To access these databases from home, pick up the list of passwords at the library.  If you have problems accessing or using these resources, please contact the library.

 

General    •    Automotive    •    Biography    •    Business & Finance    •    Culture    •    Education    •    Encyclopedias & Reference    •    Genealogy    •    Government    •    Health & Wellness    •    History    •    Legal    •    Literature & E-books    •    Local News    •    Statistics

 

MyLibraryDV - Download programs legally free of charge.  Choose from the following categories:  movies (classics and independent films), cooking (Julia Child, Jacques Pιpin, Chris Kimball, Michael Chiarello, and others), travel, health, literature (including author interviews), and how-to (such as Today's Homeowner and Antiques Roadshow).  Click on the image to the left to see a list of the programs available, to find answers to common questions, or to start downloading and enjoying the videos!

 

General

            Databases

ArticleFirst - Article citations from a wide variety of journals, with a list of libraries that own the journal.

Books in Print - In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos.

Electronic Books - Online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.

Electronic Collections Online - Indexes scholarly journals, listing libraries that own those titles.

eLibrary - Full-text access to magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video files.

GPO Monthly Catalog - U.S. government documents.

PapersFirst - Papers presented at congresses, symposia, conferences, expositions, workshops, and meetings.

ProceedingsFirst - Published proceedings of congresses, symposia, conferences, expositions, workshops, and meetings.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select - Full-text articles on many subjects.

World Almanac - Reference source that includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics.

World Book Online - Content from The World Book Encyclopedia and 16 additional databases.  Not available from home.

WorldCat - Books, web resources, and other materials cataloged by libraries worldwide.

WorldCat Dissertations & Theses - Dissertations and theses available in libraries worldwide.

            Other Links

Best of the Web - Links to web sites grouped by subject.

MyLibraryDV - Downloadable movies and programs on cooking, travel, health, literature, and how-to topics.

Refdesk.com - links to thousands of web resources, including almanacs, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and special subject helpers such as currency converters, crossword puzzle help, free stuff, grammar, movies, sports, and more.

How Much Is That? - compare purchasing power, exchange rates, interest rates, and more, in the U.S. and the U.K.

 

Top of page

 

Automotive

Auto Repair Reference Center - Automotive repair information on domestic and imported vehicles, 1945 to present.

 

Top of page

 

Biography

CultureGrams - Cultural information on the world's countries and peoples.

Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated - In-depth, full-text profiles of people from ancient times to the present.

 

Top of page

 

Business & Finance

Kiplinger Forecasts - Financial information from Kiplinger.

ReferenceUSA - Information on businesses, households, and healthcare providers in the U.S. and Canada.

 

Top of page

 

Culture

CultureGrams - Cultural information on the world's countries and peoples.

 

Top of page

 

Education

ERIC - Journal articles and reports in education, many with free full-text.

LearnATest - Practice tests and test preparation for academic, civil service, and professional tests.

World Book Online - Content from The World Book Encyclopedia and 16 additional databases.  Not available from home.

WorldCat Dissertations & Theses - Dissertations and theses available in libraries worldwide.

 

Top of page

 

Encyclopedias & Reference

World Almanac - Reference source that includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics.

World Book Online - Content from The World Book Encyclopedia and 16 additional databases.

 

Top of page

 

Genealogy

HeritageQuest - Genealogy data.  Click here for access from home.

 

Top of page

 

Government

            Databases

GPO Monthly Catalog - U.S. government documents.

            Other Links

Nebraska State Government Publications - Publications from Nebraska state agencies.

 

Top of page

 

Health & Wellness

            Databases

MEDLINE - All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with some full text.

    Also available through PubMed.

ReferenceUSA - Information on businesses, households, and healthcare providers in the U.S. and Canada.

Teen Health and Wellness - Health and wellness information designed for teens.

            Other Links

GoLocal Nebraska - Find hospitals, physicians, clinics, and other healthcare services in your community.

Healthfinder - Consumer health information.

MEDLINEplus - Consumer information about health, drugs, physicians, hospitals.

MyLibraryDV - Downloadable programs on health issues.

NOAH, New York Online Access to Health - Consumer health information.

United Way of the Midlands - Links to local human care services.

        Search for health and social services available in Nebraska.

 

Top of page

 

History

            Databases

CultureGrams - Cultural information on the world's countries and peoples.

            Other Links

History - It's Happening - Major U.S. historical events, mostly 19th-20th centuries.

 

Top of page

 

Legal

Legal Forms - Nebraska-specific legal forms, attorney state directory, and a dictionary of legal definitions.

 

Top of page

 

Literature & E-books

            Databases

Books in Print - In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos.

Fiction Connection - Browse fiction by many subjects, find similar books.

netLibrary - E-books that can be read online and sometimes downloaded to your computer.

NoveList - Search or browse fiction by many subjects, find similar books.

WorldCat - Books, web resources, and other materials cataloged by libraries worldwide.

            Other Links

Baen Free Library - free e-books you can read online.

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations - passages, phrases, and proverbs from ancient and modern literature.

Bestseller Lists - links to bestseller lists from Publisher's Weekly, New York Times, USA Today, and more.

Book and Media Awards - links to many literature and media awards.

Free e-Books - link to sites that contain free e-books you can read online.

Golden Sower Award - outstanding books chosen by Nebraska children.

Internet Archive - a digital library of texts, audio, live music, moving images, and software.

MyLibraryDV - Downloadable movies (classics and independent films), author interviews, and multimedia study guides.

Omaha Reads - nominate a book, January through February, for Omaha Public Library's "Omaha Reads" program.

 

Top of page

 

Local News

Ralston Recorder - Local news.  NOTE:  The library has most issues of the Ralston Recorder, 1960 to the present.

 

Top of page

 

Statistics

Statistical Information - links to statistical information from U.S. federal and international statistical agencies.

U.S. Census 2000 - gateway to statistics provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

World FactBook - information on countries.

 

Last updated 2/21/2008